War and Peace / Stríð og Friður

Imagine Peace Tower / Friðarsúlan, Viðey Island, Reykjavík, Iceland (by alf07, flickr)

Imagine Peace Tower / Friðarsúlan, Viðey Island, Reykjavík, Iceland (by alf07, flickr)

Given the choice I will always choose peace over war. That’s that. When it comes down to it, that’s what I want, ultimately.

So when war is declared … what is there to do?

After some thought …

Declare peace!

From the very beginning, until the very end, no matter what.

I kept my peace, in the face of war.

I held my tongue, I steadied my hand, I withheld my sword … I kept the peace.

It’s not that I am weak, it’s not that I cannot, or am unwilling to fight … it’s that I choose peace.

Sure, it’s cost me. It’s cost me things I value far less than peace. It’s cost me a lot, more than I would have liked.

But you know what … I have my peace.

You cannot put a price on that peace.

I’ve done what’s right, and it’s cost me, big time, and it’s hurt, more than anyone knows.

I won’t falter, I won’t deviate, I will stay the course … I am not done, not by a long chalk.

If peace is what I truly want, then I must avoid war at all costs.

I am a warrior … for peace, because I withhold my sword.

Therein … is victory.

… and the spoils is that peace.

Bless Bless og Sjáumst!

